Do you want to give back to your community by having the ability to provide basic medical care during an emergency? Become an Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) and learn how to stabilize a patient prior to the arrival of Emergency Medical Services (EMS).
The Emergency Medical Responder course is a 64-hour course and meets the National Standard Curriculum core competencies. The course consists of both classroom lecture and hands-on skills training covering patient assessment, treatment, and use of various medical equipment.
Individuals successfully completing this course will be eligible to sit for the National Registry Cognitive Exam and certification through Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) as an EMR.
All classes are pending approval from the Texas Department of State Health Services.
There are no prerequisites for this course.
Course Completion Requirements
- 18 years of age or older
- Submit proof of a high school diploma or GED
- Submit proof of a current healthcare provider CPR card like an American Heart Association BLS Provider or an American Red Cross Professional Rescuer CPR card
- Bring a stethoscope and blood pressure cuff
Prior to attending class, you must purchase the Emergency Medical Responder 6th Ed. textbook and Navigate Course Management access (ISBN# 9781284107272).
These materials can be purchased at a discounted price directly from Jones and Bartlett.
TopicsTrauma/Shock +Medical Terminology+Principles of Patient Assessment+Hazardous Materials (HazMat)+Medical Emergencies+Automatic External Defibrillator (AED)
- Fire Services
- Law Enforcement
- Industrial Safety personnel
- Anyone who may be required to respond to medical or trauma emergencies
Continuing Education & Professional Credits
Annual Fire Training School Information
If you are attending this course as part of TEEX's Texas Annual Fire Training School taught each March and July, you need to be aware of the following additional information:
Annual Fire Training School Registration Requirements
Annual Schools require that you use the online registration system. If you are using a Purchase Order please place the PO number in the PO field for payment. Please know we must have a copy of the PO within 48 hours of your registration or you will be canceled out of the class.
Annual Fire Training School Late Registration
A $50 late fee will be assessed to payments made after the registration deadline.
Annual Fire Training School Contact Information
If you have any questions about Annual Schools, call (866) 878-8900 or email email@example.com.
Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
- Regular work attire for training activities and classroom sessions.
- You may not wear to any class or field activity
- sleeveless shirts
- open-toed shoes