Skip to main content


For those looking for a new career path or professionals seeking advanced skills, security courses provide the training required for a non-commissioned security officer in the State of Texas across a range of specialized areas. Online course curriculum is approved by the Texas Private Security Bureau for a variety of certifications including public safety supervisor, infrastructure protection and school safety for managing critical incidents in higher education such as violence prevention and sport event risk management. The training encompasses the roles and responsibilities of security officers, legal aspects of security work, security communications, and response to emergencies and safety hazards. Security courses provide individuals and public and private sector organizations with skills to improve safety, security and effective community response to threat incidence. TEEX is licensed by the Texas Private Security Bureau as a Class F, Level III, Training School.

Funding Options DHS/FEMA Veterans Benefits GSA
Delivery Types Online Face-to-Face Blended

Online Continuing Education

Division Course Number Title Description Funding Option Delivery Type



Effective Communication and Interviewing




Report Writing and Documentation


Texas Private Security Bureau Licensing

Division Course Number Title Description Funding Option Delivery Type



Texas Private Security Bureau Level II



Infrastructure Protection Certificate

The TEEX Infrastructure Protection certificate is designed for professionals who wish to enrich their personal knowledge and skills related to critical infrastructure security and resilience while earning International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) Continuing Education Units (CEUs).

This certificate program combines a broad understanding of homeland security infrastructure protection doctrine with an in-depth examination of key concepts and practices in integrated risk management, private-public partnerships, capabilities-based and community-focused planning, and whole community resilience strategies.

Participants must successfully complete all four DHS-certified courses (AWR213, MGT310, MGT315, MGT414) and submit a request for award of the certificate. Certificate requirements are subject to change.

Please contact us at or by phone at 979-845-6677 with any questions about the TEEX Infrastructure Protection certificate.​

© Copyright 2015 Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
A member of the Texas A&M University System