• Home
  • News
  • 22 new officers graduate from Central Texas Police Academy

COLLEGE STATION – Twenty-two new peace officers graduated from the Central Texas Police Academy on Dec. 7, after 18 weeks of comprehensive training. The Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service (TEEX) operates the academy, which was established in 1953 as the Texas Municipal Police School.

Justice Ken Wise, of the Texas 14th Court of Appeals, delivered the keynote address at the graduation ceremony, which was held at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center at Texas A&M University.

Many of the new officers have already begun their duties with area police departments in Bryan, College Station and Texas A&M University, as well as the Brazos County Sheriff’s Office, Grimes County Sheriff’s Office, Washington County Sheriff’s Office, and College Station Fire Department.

TEEX Director Gary Sera welcomed the class and their guests to the graduation ceremony, and Cullen Grissom also addressed the graduates. Awards were presented by Division Director Elizabeth Morris, and Academy Training Manager Lee Santo awarded the certificates. Other members of the academy staff are Larry Frye, Kyle McNew, Christine Ramirez, Jan Meyer-Brickley, David Church and Robin Crawford. Guest instructors were also recognized.

Contact Information

Kathy Fraser

Director of Marketing and Communications

From the well prepared presentations and class activities to the great suggestions for where-to-go; everything was beautifully organized and thoughtfully planned. I especially appreciated how the message of doing good work for the good of our community was endorsed each day. The week was encouraging and fun with ample take-away ideas!

— Sharon Barnard, BEDC Participant, Manager, Victoria Economic Development Corporation
Back to top